Canada in French
Share / Tweet / Pin Me!

Le Canada

Canada is officially a bilingual country, though outside of the province of Québec, French is considerably less common than English. Nonetheless, Canada’s 13 provinces and territories have official names in both languages.

Alberta   l’Alberta (f)
British Columbia   la Colombie-Britannique   
Manitoba   le Manitoba
New Brunswick   le Nouveau-Brunswick
Newfoundland and Labrador   la Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador   
Northwest Territories   les Territoires du Nord-Ouest  (m)
Nova Scotia   la Nouvelle-Écosse
Nunavut   le Nunavut
Ontario   l’Ontario (m)
Prince Edward Island   l’île du Prince-Édouard    (f)
Quebec   le Québec
Saskatchewan   la Saskatchewan*
Yukon (Territory)   le Yukon
le territoire du Yukon

 * According to the Saskatchewan government’s official website and les Fransaskois (French-speaking inhabitants of Saskatchewan), this province is feminine. However, many dictionaries and websites mistakenly say it’s masculine.

 Related lessons

About Canada

 Share / Tweet / Pin Me!

French Canadian provinces and territories

  Lawless French Files:  

Stay up to date with Lawless French

Questions about French?

 Visit the Progress with Lawless French Q+A forum to get help from native French speakers and fellow learners.

More Lawless French

 Subscribe to my twice-weekly newsletter.

Support Lawless French

  This free website is created with love and a great deal of work.

If you love it, please consider making a one-time or monthly donation.

Your support is entirely optional but tremendously appreciated.

Leave a Reply